Databases

Databases

To use the databases:

  • Browse the list of titles below, organized by subject area.
  • Choose a database and click on the title.
  • Companies that produce the databases are listed in parentheses after the title.
  • Some databases are geared for General use and some are geared for Academic use.
  • Happy Searching!

Articles in Magazines & Journals

Academic Search Elite
Contains the complete text of nearly 2050 scholarly journals, including nearly 1500 peer-reviewed journals. This database covers virtually every area of academic study with full text information. (Academic)

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly
Search articles from Canadian and international journals, magazines and selected sections of the Globe and Mail. It offers full text of many articles and features biographies and other reference content. (General)

Canadian Newsstand
Provides full text of major Canadian newspapers, including Alberta dailies and weeklies.

Canadian Reference Centre
Combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. Includes an Image Collection. (General)

General Reference Center Gold
This database contains the full text of magazines, reference books, and newspapers with information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, and sports. The content is primarily American in focus. (General)

Master File Premier
Contains full text articles from more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural magazines. (General)

Newspapers

Canadian Newsstand (Micromedia Proquest): Provides full text of major Canadian newspapers, including Alberta dailies and weeklies. (General)

Regional Business News (EBSCO): Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (General)

Encyclopedias & Reference Books
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Database of eBook reference sources on the environment, history, multicultural studies and science.

World Book Online Reference Centre  Select World Book Student, World Book Kids, or World Book Spanish and browse thousands of articles, state-of-the-art multimedia, editor-reviewed web sites, and periodical content.

Associations Unlimited (Gale) : Includes 23,000 U.S. national associations, 20,000 International associations, 111,000 U.S. regional, state, and local associations and IRS data on 300,000 nonprofit organizations.

Arts

Canadian Literacy Centre (EBSCO):  Contains books and reference material from the Canadian Press. Includes author biographies, essays, literary criticism, and book reviews. Includes access to Quill & Quire. (Academic)

Contemporary Authors (Gale) Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. (General & Academic)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO): Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text  Subject coverage includes a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. It contains full text for more than 100 periodicals and more than 100 books and monographs.

Novelist (EBSCO): The most comprehensive reader’s advisory tool available. Like an author? Find a read alike here! Looking for book club guides? Look no further! Book reviews on over 150,00 fiction titles and over 4000 custom created articles.

Auto Repair

Auto Repair Reference Centre (EBSCO): Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; over 205,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs; approximately 75,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; over 130,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules.

Business

Business Source Elite (EBSCO) Provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Presents information dating back to 1985 and detailed company profiles for the world’s 10,000 largest companies.

Regional Business News (EBSCO) Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Education

Educational Resources Information Center or ERIC (EBSCO): This database contains over 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles from the world’s largest education information resource. (General or academic)

Education Research Complete (EBSCO): Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all education specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals, and includes full text for more than 71 books and monographs and for numerous education related conference papers.

Gardening

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (EBSCO): Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is the premier resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design & history.

Genealogy

HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest): HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.

Health and Wellness

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO): This database provides full text information on alternate, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, and includes many peer-reviewed journals. (General)

Health Source – Consumer Edition (EBSCO): The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. Health Source features searchable full text for nearly 300 journals. Topics include medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (General)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO): Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on several medical disciplines. Also includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 85 journals. (Academic)

MEDLINE (EBSCO): Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more. Search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals. (Academic)

Language Learning Software

Auralog - Tell Me More: This immersion method is based on years of academic research and is aligned for ease of use. The program centers on developing the specific skills needed to succeed in learning a language, including: reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary, grammar, and culture. Click here to see the press release by The Alberta Library regarding Auralog.

Sciences

AGRICultural Online Access or AGRICOLA (EBSCO): Contains books and articles on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Includes listings on animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, fisheries, farming, agricultural economics. (Academic)

Environment Complete (EBSCO):Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, envionmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 1,772, 000 records from more than 1,660 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s as well as more than 100 monographs. This database also contains full text for more than 600 journals.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO):Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,470 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 660 periodicals.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO): Provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (Academic)